Commercial Diving Certifications

IMCA – International Marine Contractors Association

This is an association which that runs certification schemes for the positions of offshore diving supervisor and life support technicians. They lay down minimum requirements for certification in each position. This also includes relevant diving experience, basic theoretical training, supervised hands-on experience offshore and a multi-choice theory examination.


ALST – Assistant Life Support Technician

Obtaining this certification comes by completing an IMCA -approved training course. Only certain schools are approved, but you can find the list of schools here. After completing that course you are able to log some experience as a trainee or assistant and then be put forward by an employer.


LST – Life Support Technician

After completing the ALST training course, logging experience, and being put forward by and employer, the next step is to pass the IMCA exam. These exams are held all over the world!

The exams are multi-choice and have modules for air diving supervision, mixed gas/bell diving supervision and life support, as well as optional legislation modules which candidates can choose to take relevant to the parts of the world they might work in.


ADAS – Australian Diver Accreditation Scheme

This certification scheme is comparable to IMCA, and it is globally recognized and and accepted. ADAS is also aligned with the national vocational education and training framework. Its courses are accredited under the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) as a nationally Registered Training Organisation (RTO). This adds another layer to the ADAS quality management arrangements and improves the Scheme’s credibility through the ASQA external audit process and the awarding of educational credits. To find a list of schools and courses here.


DCBC – Dive Certification Board of Canada

The Board’s mission is to provide a national, Canadian diving certification regime for professional diving personnel, based on a single national standard of competencies, in order to enhance industry safety by demonstrating personal competency. Many different certifications can be obtained through DCBC including SCUBA Supervisor, Bell Diving Supervisor and Offshore Diving Safety Specialist. To find the list of schools where you can be DCBC certified click here.


NDC – 

The Netherlands Diving Centre aims to serve the Netherlands diving community. The NDC is a not for profit foundation. Its Board consists of representatives of the government, the unions, the industry and sports diving. Check here to see some more information about obtaining a certification from NDC.


CSWIP – Certification Scheme for Personnel

CSWIP is a world leader in its field with over 20,000 certified individuals worldwide. An internationally recognised mark of competence for people engaged in welding and inspection related jobs in manufacturing, constructing, operating or repairing high integrity welded structures, plant or components. To see a list of categories to obtain this certification visit the website.


NWTS – National Welder Training Standard

To read all about how and where to obtain this certification check this out.


DMT – Diver Medical Technician

The DMT Training Group evolved from a merger of the DMT Diver Medic Training and DEA Diver Education Associates in 1998. Up to that time they operated as separate entities. To learn more about what DMT certified divers do visit the CDA Technical Institutes informational page.


UXO – Unexploded Underwater Ordnance

Diver UXO Technicians are dually certified by the U.S. Navy or equivalent, to dive SCUBA and surface supplied, any time of the year, in handling UXO. To learn more about this interesting field of diving check the VRHABILIS site


ADC – Association of Diving Contractors

Encompassing offshore and island sectors of diving, ADCI is comprises of segments from the business, educational and medical communities. ACDI cooperates and participates with State and Federal Regulatory agencies and works closely with all stakeholders to develop standards that are consistent and attainable, while meeting the high standards of safety for underwater operations. They a few certifications for divers, supervisors, and LSTs. Take a look at their site to learn more!

AWS – American Welding Association
AWS serves more than 66,000 members worldwide. Membership consists of engineers, scientists, educators, researchers, welders, inspectors, welding foremen, company executives and officers, and corporate members including welding manufactures, independent welding shops, distributorship, end-users, educational institutions and more. Member interests include automatic, semi-automatic and manual welding, as well as brazing, soldering, ceramics, lamination, robotics, and welding safety and health. Learn more about how to get certified by visiting the AWS website.
Sources –

Welcome to IMCA


Who We Are